DJ | Electronic Music Producer
Mix-CD #5 Men Behind The Moon
Categories: Mix-CDs

Mix-CD #5 is a mix of classic atmospheric (or ‘intelligent’) drum ’n’ bass tunes, mostly originating from the nineties. The ambient, dreamy soundscapes always makes me day-dream about space, spaceships, science fiction and…Carl Sagan.


Sagan’s well known series about the existence of the universe and our planet, Cosmos (1980), is a happy memory from my youth. At that time I was mostly fascinated by the spaceship Sagan was traveling in while deliberating about the immense vastness of the universe.

More recently I discovered on YouTube numerous keynotes in which Sagan warns humanity for disasters caused by nobody else than humans themselves. He particularly criticize the lack of our ability to recognize the dangerous disconnection with nature, earth and our fragile place in the universe (Sagan calls earth a pale blue dot, inspired by a photo taken from Voyager 1 on 14 February 1990, just before leaving our solar system.).

For me it’s striking that the urgent calls of such a popular, charismatic scientist and great communicator, decades ago, never have been seriously answered or acknowledged. We are still at the same point of hesitation and denial as when he gave this impressive keynote at the Emerging Issues Forum in 1990 (in which he even mentions my nation’s famous dykes).


I have to admit we are living in troublesome times. Music has always been my escape from that. It helps me to contemplate and to stay positive. As Sagan tells us in his series Cosmos:

The size and age of the cosmos are beyond ordinary human understanding. Lost somewhere between immensity and eternity is our tiny planetary home, the Earth. For the first time, we have the power to decide the fate of our planet and ourselves. This is a time of great danger, but our species is young and curious and brave. It shows much promise.


  1. Omni Trio-Higher Ground
  2. Seba-Camouflage
  3. Blame-Alpha
  4. Rantoul-Deep Water
  5. Intense-Eastern Promise
  6. PFM-Dannys Song
  7. Tayla-Dimensions
  8. Boon-Artifex
  9. PFM-The Western
  10. Bop-Skeptikos (Mav Remix)
  11. Apex-The Yearning

Mix-CD By Mail

I have never abandoned the compact disc. Music on cd still sounds much better than on the music platforms we are all used to. Besides, Mixcloud, the service I use to share my dj-mixes, can be very restrictive and picky towards my Mix-CDs.

So, I’ll share my music on cd too. And for the record: For free! If you are interested in a Mix-CD, and hopefully in the future, my own tracks, leave your email in the box at the top of the right column and you will be subscribed to my mailinglist. When you are subscribed, I will ask you if you like to receive my Mix-CD’s at your address, nicely old fashioned delivered by The Netherland’s oldest postal service.


If you want to share some thoughts on the music, please do in the comments below.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.